Coût de la dérivation gastrique en Espagne

Traitement et coût

14

Nombre total de jours
Dans le pays

2 Non. Voyageurs

3 Journée à l'hôpital

11 Jours hors hôpital

Le coût du traitement commence à partir de

USD 25700

Hôpitaux

À propos du bypass gastrique

De nos jours, la gestion du poids est le plus gros problème pour les personnes de tous les groupes d'âge. Les options de chirurgie de perte de poids sont préférées lorsque d'autres moyens de perte de poids tels que l'exercice, la gestion du régime alimentaire, etc. ne fonctionnent pas.

La dérivation gastrique, également connue sous le nom de dérivation gastrique de Roux-en-Y, est l'une des options de chirurgie de perte de poids les plus populaires au cours de laquelle la taille de l'estomac est diminuée. La taille réduite de l'estomac permet une consommation réduite de nourriture par le patient, ce qui à son tour entraîne une perte de poids progressive.

Les autres options de chirurgie de perte de poids populaires comprennent:

  • Gastrectomie à manches
  • Anneau gastrique ajustable
  • Déviation biliopancréatique avec interrupteur duodénal (BPD / DS)

De toutes les procédures bariatriques, la dérivation gastrique est l'option la plus préférée pour la perte de poids en raison de la plus grande possibilité de résultats positifs. De plus, il n'y a pas d'effets secondaires majeurs du bypass gastrique.

 Quels sont les critères de la chirurgie de pontage gastrique?

 Tout le monde n'est pas un candidat idéal pour la chirurgie de pontage gastrique. Les personnes ayant un indice de masse corporelle (IMC) de 40 ou plus et ayant des antécédents de maladie cardiaque, d'obésité et d'apnée obstructive du sommeil sont principalement recommandées pour un pontage gastrique.

Comment la dérivation gastrique est-elle effectuée?

La chirurgie de pontage gastrique est réalisée en deux phases:

Phase I

  • Une petite partie de l'estomac, d'environ 30 millilitres à 1 once de volume, est coupée.
  • Ceci est fait pour former une poche gastrique, où la nourriture ira après avoir mangé une fois que le patient aura terminé la chirurgie.

 Phase II: contournement

  • La partie supérieure de l'intestin grêle est coupée au milieu. La partie inférieure de l'intestin grêle, le jéjunum, est maintenant attachée à la poche gastrique.
  • La partie supérieure de l'intestin grêle est également attachée au jéjunum. Cela facilite le mélange des acides gastriques et des enzymes digestives de la poche gastrique et de la partie supérieure de l'intestin grêle avec la nourriture. Cela permet une digestion normale.

Récupération de la dérivation gastrique

  • 1 à 4 jours d'hospitalisation peuvent être nécessaires
  • Des analgésiques et des médicaments pour prévenir les caillots sanguins sont administrés après la chirurgie
  • Le patient ne peut manger normalement qu'après 3 jours de chirurgie
  • Des bas spéciaux pour éviter la formation de caillots sanguins dans les jambes seront conseillés
  • Le patient doit suivre un régime et faire de l'exercice comme suggéré par le médecin et la diététiste

    Il y a une perte de poids importante dans le premier mois après la chirurgie, qui diminue progressivement. Pour maintenir l'intensité de la perte de poids, le patient doit suivre une routine d'exercice et un régime strict.

    Les conditions médicales suivantes s'améliorent généralement après un pontage gastrique:

    • Asthme
    • Hypertension
    • Taux de cholestérol élevé
    • Le diabète de type 2
    • Apnée obstructive du sommeil

Histoires de patients

Questions fréquemment posées

Combien coûte la dérivation gastrique en Espagne?

En moyenne, la dérivation gastrique en Espagne coûte environ 25700 $. De nombreux hôpitaux multispécialités certifiés JCI, OHSAS sont approuvés pour opérer un by-pass gastrique en Espagne

Quels sont les facteurs affectant le coût de la dérivation gastrique en Espagne?

Le coût du forfait de dérivation gastrique en Espagne comporte différentes inclusions et exclusions. Le coût cité par certains des meilleurs hôpitaux pour la dérivation gastrique en Espagne couvre généralement les investigations pré-chirurgicales du patient. Le coût complet du forfait de dérivation gastrique comprend le coût des examens, de la chirurgie, des médicaments et des consommables. Les complications post-chirurgicales, les nouvelles découvertes et les retards de récupération peuvent avoir un impact sur le coût total de la dérivation gastrique en Espagne.

Quelles sont certaines des meilleures cliniques en Espagne pour le Bypasst gastrique?

Il existe de nombreux hôpitaux qui effectuent une dérivation gastrique en Espagne. Voici quelques-uns des hôpitaux les plus renommés pour la dérivation gastrique en Espagne:

  1. Centro Medico Teknon
  2. Hôpital Quironsalud Marbella
  3. Hôpital Quironsalud Torrevieja
Combien de jours faut-il pour récupérer une dérivation gastrique en Espagne?

Le rétablissement du patient varie beaucoup, en fonction de plusieurs facteurs. Cependant, en moyenne, le patient est censé rester environ 14 jours dans le pays après son congé. Cette durée de séjour est recommandée pour effectuer tous les suivis et tests de contrôle nécessaires pour s'assurer que la chirurgie a réussi.

Quelles sont certaines des autres destinations populaires pour la dérivation gastrique?

L'Espagne est l'une des destinations les plus prisées pour la dérivation gastrique. Il a une variété d'hôpitaux accrédités, des coûts de traitement abordables et certaines des meilleures fraternités médicales. Certaines des autres destinations populaires pour la dérivation gastrique sont les suivantes:

PaysCoût
République tchèqueUSD 11000
GrèceUSD 6500
IndeUSD 7000
IsraëlUSD 17500
LibanUSD 9000
LituanieUSD 7000
MalaisieUSD 8700
PologneUSD 7200
Arabie SaouditeUSD 10000
SingapourUSD 13000
Afrique du SudUSD 9000
Corée du SudUSD 18500
EspagneUSD 25700
ThaïlandeUSD 25300
TunisieUSD 6000
TurquieUSD 4205
Emirats Arabes UnisUSD 9500
Royaume UniUSD 15000
Combien coûtent les autres dépenses en Espagne en dehors du coût de la dérivation gastrique?

Outre le coût de la dérivation gastrique, le patient doit également payer en plus les repas quotidiens et l'hébergement en maison d'hôtes. Dans ce cas, le coût par jour peut commencer à partir de 50 USD par personne.

Quelles sont les meilleures villes d'Espagne pour la procédure de dérivation gastrique?

La dérivation gastrique en Espagne est proposée dans presque toutes les villes métropolitaines, y compris les suivantes:

  1. Marbella
  2. Torrevieja
  3. Madrid
  4. Barcelone
Combien de jours faut-il passer à l'hôpital pour dérivation gastrique en Espagne?

Après la dérivation gastrique, le patient est censé rester environ 3 jours à l'hôpital pour la récupération et la surveillance. Le patient est soumis à plusieurs analyses biochimiques et radiologiques pour voir que tout va bien et que la récupération est en bonne voie. Après s'être assuré que le patient est cliniquement stable, une sortie est prévue.

Combien d'hôpitaux proposent une dérivation gastrique en Espagne?

Il y a plus de 3 hôpitaux qui proposent une dérivation gastrique en Espagne. Les cliniques énumérées ci-dessus sont approuvées pour effectuer la chirurgie et disposent d'une infrastructure appropriée pour traiter les patients en dérivation gastrique. De plus, ces hôpitaux sont connus pour se conformer aux normes internationales ainsi qu'aux exigences légales locales pour le traitement des patients.

FAQ concernant l'Espagne

Quelles normes d'accréditation sanitaire sont suivies en Espagne?

En Espagne, les normes d'accréditation sont reconnues pour maintenir le contrôle de la qualité sur les nombreuses organisations de soins de santé. Il existe de nombreux paramètres de santé sur lesquels les hôpitaux espagnols ont fait leurs preuves à maintes reprises. Les deux paramètres de la qualité des soins de santé et de la sécurité des patients sont vérifiés par Joint Commission International dans les hôpitaux de toute l'Espagne. L'évaluation finale effectuée par les professionnels de santé expérimentés et qualifiés travaillant dans l'organisme d'accréditation peut être attestée en raison de leur haute compétence.

Quels sont les groupes hospitaliers multi-spécialités populaires en Espagne?

Les groupes hospitaliers en Espagne sont régulièrement visités par un grand nombre de patients de cultures et de nationalités variées. Un grand nombre de spécialités sont couvertes sous le terme de multispécialité en ce qui concerne les hôpitaux en Espagne. Nous listons ici quelques-uns des meilleurs hôpitaux multi-spécialités d'Espagne.

  1. Hôpital universitaire Quironsalud Madrid, Madrid
  2. Hôpital universitaire de la Fondation Jimenez Diaz, Madrid
  3. Hôpital Quironsalud Barcelona, ​​Barcelone
  4. Hôpital Quironsalud Torrevieja, Torrevieja
  5. Hôpital universitaire Dexeus, Barcelone
  6. Hôpital international Vithas Xanit, Malaga
  7. Grupo Hospitalario Quirónsalud, Madrid
  8. Centro Médico Quironsalud Teknon, Barcelone
  9. Hôpital général de Catalogne, Barcelone
  10. Sanitas Hospitales, Madrid

Dans les groupes hospitaliers multi-spécialités en Espagne, la portée du traitement possible est vraiment large dans chaque hôpital multi-spécialités, ce qui permet aux patients d'être traités pour un certain nombre d'affections sous un même toit.

Pourquoi devrais-je opter pour les soins de santé en Espagne?

Les soins de santé en Espagne sont au même niveau que les meilleurs au monde et sont continuellement mis à niveau avec les technologies d'aujourd'hui. L'autre avantage de votre traitement médical en Espagne est la présence de médecins compétents et qualifiés qui peuvent traiter un certain nombre de conditions. Les hôpitaux espagnols fournissent des soins médicaux de qualité dans le cadre d'un système de santé uni payeur ou d'une couverture universelle (hors médicaments sur ordonnance). Les installations médicales de classe mondiale sont combinées à un grand potentiel touristique dans les villes et villages d'Espagne et c'est pourquoi vous devriez opter pour les soins de santé en Espagne.Leur relation symbiotique entre de merveilleuses villes touristiques et des installations de santé exceptionnelles, faisant de l'Espagne un choix naturel. comme destination de tourisme médical.

Quelle est la qualité des médecins en Espagne?

Les médecins en Espagne ont été formés dans les meilleures institutions et excellent dans le traitement de leurs patients. En Espagne, les médecins ont affiné leurs compétences médicales et chirurgicales avec des années d'expérience pratique. Les médecins en Espagne ont le goût d'apprendre et d'appliquer les nouvelles techniques médicales et chirurgicales ainsi que les technologies. Qu'il s'agisse d'apprendre de nouvelles techniques ou d'appliquer concrètement les nouvelles technologies, les médecins en Espagne sont adeptes de tout. Obtenir votre traitement en Espagne devrait être une affaire transparente car il n'y a même pas de barrière linguistique avec l'anglais comme deuxième langue pour de nombreux médecins.

Lorsque je voyage en Espagne pour un traitement médical, quels documents essentiels dois-je emporter?

Lors de la planification de votre voyage médical en Espagne, veuillez créer une liste de contrôle des documents que vous devez avoir sur vous. Les documents médicaux et de voyage doivent faciliter votre traitement et votre voyage en Espagne aussi facilement et sans effort. Un passeport, un visa, un billet aller-retour, une assurance médicale de voyage, une preuve d'hébergement, une preuve d'état civil, une preuve de ressources financières comme un relevé bancaire, une lettre de parrainage, une preuve de paiement de traitement ou une preuve de votre gouvernement couvrant les coûts et les documents d'emploi (selon le statut) sont tous essentiels documents de voyage. De plus, vous devez avoir sur vous vos documents médicaux tels que les rapports médicaux, la lettre du médecin / hôpital vous référant pour traitement, la correspondance entre le médecin / hôpital qui vous a référé et celui où vous allez être traité et les rapports de test.

Quelles sont les procédures populaires disponibles en Espagne?

L'Espagne est une destination de tourisme médical d'élite qui a fait sa marque sur la scène mondiale. Il a une culture populaire du sport et de la forme physique qui conduit naturellement au développement de certains domaines comme la médecine du sport et les procédures orthopédiques. Veuillez trouver ici les procédures les plus populaires effectuées en Espagne qui en ont fait une destination de tourisme médical de pointe. Traitements de fertilité, chirurgie plastique, chirurgie élective, dentisterie, soins oculaires, chirurgie bariatrique, procédures orthopédiques, chirurgie de la colonne vertébrale et procédures liées à la médecine du sport.

Est-il obligatoire de se faire vacciner avant de partir en Espagne?

Lorsque vous vous rendez en Espagne en tant que voyageur médical, sachez qu'il est obligatoire de se faire vacciner avant de commencer votre voyage. Certains problèmes de santé exigent de se faire vacciner régulièrement, comme la diphtérie-tétanos-coqueluche, la grippe (grippe), la rougeole-oreillons-rubéole (ROR), la polio et la varicelle (varicelle). Un ensemble de vaccinations est considéré comme obligatoire pour un groupe particulier de voyageurs uniquement, comme pour l'hépatite A, l'hépatite B et la rougeole uniquement. La méningite, le zona, la pneumonie, le Covid19 et la rage sont des conditions dont vous devez vous faire vacciner avant de vous rendre en Espagne.

Quelles sont les autres installations fournies par les hôpitaux?

En Espagne, les hôpitaux fournissent des installations supplémentaires qui rendent les procédures de traitement transparentes pour les voyageurs. Conformément à cet effort, des services aux patients internationaux sont disponibles dans les principaux hôpitaux d'Espagne. L'assurance maladie privée est une installation complémentaire qui vous aidera en tant que touriste médical et elle est disponible dans les hôpitaux en Espagne. Les hôpitaux en Espagne offrent de nombreuses installations supplémentaires telles que:

  1. Pharmacies
  2. Cafétérias
  3. Restauration interne
  4. Physiothérapie
  5. Services de laboratoire
  6. Services de transfert et de transport pour les voyageurs médicaux internationaux.
Quelles sont les principales villes de tourisme médical en Espagne?

L'Espagne est bien connue pour ses diverses destinations de tourisme médical telles que

  • Barcelone
  • Malaga
  • Séville
  • Granada
  • Alicante
  • Madrid

Parmi ces destinations, la santé de Madrid est synonyme de services de santé reproductive et de soins de santé généraux et Barcelone est célèbre pour ses hôpitaux de santé infantile. Le tourisme médical est un domaine d'intervention clé en Espagne et des investissements sont en cours de planification et de mise en œuvre pour y parvenir. L'excellente infrastructure de soins de santé est un attrait majeur pour les touristes médicaux venant en Espagne et il y a une mise à niveau continue de la même chose avec les dernières technologies.

Savez-vous?

MediGence propose des prix groupés pré-négociés pour de nombreuses interventions chirurgicales qui vous aident à réduire les coûts et à bénéficier d'avantages inégalés

Découvrez nos meilleures offres

Demandez à votre conseiller en soins de santé les meilleures options multiples et choisissez celle qui répond à vos attentes

Notre équipe d'experts en soins de santé se fera un plaisir de vous aider

Écrivez nous
ou de nous appeler

(+ 1) 424 283 4838

Gastric Bypass cost in Spain

Surgical staples are used to form a tiny pouch at the top of the stomach during a gastric bypass. The pouch is then attached to your small intestine, bypassing the remainder of your stomach (bypass). This means you'll eat less to feel satisfied, and you'll absorb fewer calories from your meals. Metabolic syndrome, type 2 diabetes, high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, atherosclerosis, sleep apnea, back pain, osteoarthritis, urine incontinence, malignancies, and stroke are only some of the significant health problems that can be treated by gastric bypass surgery.

Medical tourism in Spain is well-known for its wide range of medical treatments, which some consider to be among the greatest in the world, even rivalling those in the United Kingdom. Barcelona and Madrid boast an exceptional network of hospitals that is unmatched anywhere in the world.

With some of the best treatments, weight-loss surgery in Spain is the best and has an excellent reputation for its private hospitals. Spain's health sector has exploded in recent years, transforming it into a global obesity surgery destination, with medical tourism increasing year after year. The leading clinics in Spain have built a reputation for quality through high standards of care, certified, highly trained, and educated teams of bariatric physicians, and the utilisation of cutting-edge medical technology and equipment.

Best centers for Gastric Bypass Surgery in Spain are Quironsalud Torrevieja Hospital, Teknon Medical Center, and Quironsalud Marbella Hospital.

Cost Comparison

Average Gastric Bypass Surgery in Spain costs $1700, where prices can go as high as $2500, whereas it is much higher in Greece i.e., US$ 15,000 and in Thailand i.e., US$ 21,700. Clearly, it would be a wise decision to choose Spain to get the Gastric Bypass procedure done.

Treatment and Cost

14

Total Days
In Country

2 No. Travelers

3 Day in Hospital

11 Days Outside Hospital

Treatment cost starts from

USD 25700

Hospitals

About the Gastric Bypass

Nowadays, weight management is the biggest problem for people from all age groups. Weight loss surgery options are preferred when alternative means of weight loss such as exercise, diet management, and so on fail to work.

Gastric bypass, also known as Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass, is one of the most popular weight loss surgery options during which the size of the stomach is decreased. The reduced size of the stomach allows for reduced consumption of food by the patient, which in turn, results in gradual weight loss.

Other popular weight loss surgery options include:

  • Sleeve gastrectomy
  • Adjustable gastric band
  • Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch (BPD/DS)

Of all the bariatric procedures, gastric bypass is the most preferred options for weight loss because of the greater possibility of positive outcomes. Moreover, there are no major side effects of gastric bypass.

 What are the criteria for gastric bypass surgery?

 Not everyone is an ideal candidate for gastric bypass surgery. People with a body mass index (BMI) of 40 or more and with a history of heart disease, obesity, and obstructive sleep apnea are mostly recommended gastric bypass surgery.

How is Gastric Bypass performed?

Gastric bypass surgery is performed in two phases:

Phase I

  • A small part of the stomach, of about 30 millilitres to 1 ounce in volume, is cut.
  • This is done to form a gastric pouch, where the food will go after eating once the patient is done with the surgery.

 Phase II: Bypass

  • The upper part of the small intestine is cut in the middle. The lower part of the small intestine, jejunum, is now attached to the gastric pouch.
  • The upper part of the small intestine is also attached to the jejunum. This facilitates the mixing of stomach acids and digestive enzymes from the stomach pouch and the upper portion of the small intestine with the food. This allows for normal digestion.

Recovery from Gastric Bypass

  • 1-4 days of hospital stay may be required
  • Pain medications and medicines to prevent blood clots is administered after the surgery
  • The patient is able to eat normally only after 3 days of the surgery
  • Special stockings to prevent formation of blood clots in the legs will be advised
  • The patient should follow diet and exercise as suggested by the physician and the dietitian

    There is a significant weight loss in the first month after the surgery, which gradually decreases. To maintain the intensity of weight loss, the patient must follow a strict exercise routine and diet.

    The following medical conditions usually improve after gastric bypass surgery:

    • Asthma
    • High blood pressure
    • High cholesterol
    • Type 2 diabetes
    • Obstructive sleep apnea

Patient Stories

More Related Information

Affordable Healthcare Packages related to Gastric Bypass are:

Package NameCostBook Package
Gastric Bypass in Medicana Camlica, Istanbul, Turkey8000 USDBook Now
Gastric Bypass in Dr. HE Obesity Clinic, Istanbul, Turkey5800 USDBook Now
Gastric Bypass in Pushpawati Singhania Research Institute, Delhi, India6150 USDBook Now
Gastric Bypass in Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, Delhi, India11250 USDBook Now
Gastric Bypass in NMC Hospital, Dubai, United Arab Emirates13500 USDBook Now

Procedures related to Gastric Bypass :

Most searched Hospitals for Gastric Bypass in Other Destinations are:

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Gastric Bypass cost in Spain?

On an average, Gastric Bypass in Spain costs about $25700. Many multispeciality hospitals which are JCI, OHSAS certified are approved to operate a Gastric Bypass in Spain

What are the factors affecting the cost of Gastric Bypass in Spain?

Gastric Bypass package cost in Spain has different inclusions and exclusions. The cost quoted by some of the best hospitals for Gastric Bypass in Spain generally covers the pre-surgery investigations of the patient. The comprehensive Gastric Bypass package cost includes the cost of investigations, surgery, medicines and consumables. Post-surgical complications, new findings and delayed recovery may have an impact on the total Gastric Bypass cost in Spain.

Which are some of the best clinics in Spain for Gastric Bypasst?

There are many hospitals that perform Gastric Bypass in Spain. The following are some of the most renowned hospitals for Gastric Bypass in Spain:

  1. Centro Medico Teknon
  2. Quironsalud Marbella Hospital
  3. Quironsalud Torrevieja Hospital
How many days does it take to recover post Gastric Bypass in Spain?

The recovery of the patient many vary, depending on several factors. However, on an average, patient is supposed to stay for about 14 days in the country after discharge. This duration of stay is recommended to complete all the necessary follow-ups and control tests to ensure that the surgery was successful.

Which are some of the other popular destinations for Gastric Bypass?

One of the topmost destinations for Gastric Bypass is Spain. It has a variety of accredited hospital, affordable cost of treatment and some of the best medical fraternity. Some of the other popular destinations for Gastric Bypass include the following:

CountryCost
CzechiaUSD 11000
GreeceUSD 6500
IndiaUSD 7000
IsraelUSD 17500
LebanonUSD 9000
LithuaniaUSD 7000
MalaysiaUSD 8700
PolandUSD 7200
Saudi ArabiaUSD 10000
SingaporeUSD 13000
South AfricaUSD 9000
South KoreaUSD 18500
SpainUSD 25700
ThailandUSD 25300
TunisiaUSD 6000
TurkeyUSD 4205
United Arab EmiratesUSD 9500
United KingdomUSD 15000
How much are the other expenses in Spain apart from the cost of Gastric Bypass?

Apart from the cost of Gastric Bypass, the patient is also required to pay additionally for daily meals and guest house accommodation. The per day cost in this case may start from USD 50 per person.

Which are the best cities in Spain for Gastric Bypass Procedure?

Gastric Bypass in Spain is offered in almost all metropolitan cities, including the following:

  1. Marbella
  2. Torrevieja
  3. Madrid
  4. Barcelona
How many days does one have to spend in the hospital for Gastric Bypass in Spain?

After Gastric Bypass, the patient is supposed to stay for about 3 days in the hospital for recovery and monitoring. The patient is subjected to several biochemistry and radiological scans to see that everything is okay and the recovery is on track. After making sure that patient is clinically stable, discharge is planned.

How many hospitals offer Gastric Bypass in Spain?

There are more than 3 hospitals that offer Gastric Bypass in Spain. The above listed clinics are approved to perform the surgery and have proper infrastructure to handle Gastric Bypass patients. Additionally, these hospitals are known to comply with the international standards as well as local legal requirements for the treatment of patients.

FAQ's Related to Spain

What healthcare accreditation standards are followed in Spain?

In Spain, accredition standards are recognised for maintaining quality control over the many healthcare organisations. There are many healthcare parameters on which hospitals in Spain have proven their mettle time and time again. The two parameters of healthcare quality and patient safety are checked by Joint Commission International in hospitals throughout Spain. The final evaluation done by the experienced and skilled healthcare professionals working in the accredition body can be vouched for owing to their high competence.

Which are the popular multispecialty hospital groups in Spain?

The hospital groups in Spain are regularly visited by vast number of patients from varied cultures and nationalities. A large of number of specialties are covered under the term multispecialty when it comes to hospitals in Spain. We list here some of the best multispecialty hospitals in Spain.

  1. Quironsalud Madrid University Hospital, Madrid
  2. Jimenez Diaz Foundation University Hospital, Madrid
  3. Quironsalud Barcelona Hospital, Barcelona
  4. Quironsalud Torrevieja Hospital, Torrevieja
  5. Dexeus University Hospital, Barcelona
  6. Vithas Xanit International Hospital, Malaga
  7. Grupo Hospitalario Quirónsalud, Madrid
  8. Centro Médico Quironsalud Teknon, Barcelona
  9. Hospital General de Catalunya, Barcelona
  10. Sanitas Hospitales, Madrid

In multispecialty hospital groups in Spain, the scope of treatment possible is really wide at every multispecialty hospital which makes it possible for patients to get treated for a number of conditions under one roof.

Why should I opt for healthcare in Spain?

The healthcare in Spain is at par with the best in the world and is continuously upgraded with the technologies of today. The other plus point of getting your medical treatment done in Spain is the competent and skilled doctors who can treat a number of conditions. The hospitals in Spain are providing quality medical care under a uni payer healthcare system or universal coverage (excluding prescription drugs). The world class medical facilities are combined with a great tourism potential in cities and towns of Spain and this is why you should opt for healthcare in Spain.Their is symbiotic relationship of wonderful tourist towns and cities with exceptional healthcare facilities, making Spain a natural choice as a medical tourism destination.

What is the quality of doctors in Spain?

The doctors in Spain have been educated from the best institutions and excel in treating their patients. In Spain, the doctors have refined their medical and surgical skills with years of hands on experience. The doctors in Spain have a zest for learning and application of new medical and surgical techniques as well as technologies.Whether it is learning new techniques or practical application of the new technologies, the doctors in Spain are adept at it all. Getting your treatment done in Spain should be a seamless affair as there is not even a language barrier with english the second language for many doctors.

When traveling to Spain for medical treatment, what essential documents do I need to carry along?

When planning your medical travel to Spain please do create a checklist of the documents you need to carry. The medical and travel documents must aid your treatment and journey to Spain as easy and effortless. Passport, visa, roundtrip ticket, travel medical insurance, accomodation proof, civil status proof, financial means proof like bank statement, sponsorship letter, treatment payment proof or proof of your government covering the costs and employment documents (as per status) are all essential travel documents. Also, you must carry your medical documents such as medical reports, letter from the doctor/hospital referring you for treatment, correspondence between the doctor/hospital that referred you and the one where you are going to get treated and test reports.

What are the popular procedures available in Spain?

Spain is an elite medical tourism destination that has made its mark on the world stage. It has a popular sports and physical fitness culture which naturally leads to the development of certain fields like sports medicine and orthopaedic procedures. Please find here the most popular procedures done in Spain which have made it an advanced medical tourism destination. Fertility treatments, plastic surgery, elective surgery, dentistry, eye care, bariatric surgery, orthopaedic procedures, spine surgery and sports medicine related procedures.

Is it mandatory to take vaccinations before going to Spain?

As you head to Spain as a medical traveler, please understand that it is mandatory to get yourself vaccinated before you start your journey. Some health conditions mandate taking vaccinations on a regular basis such as Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis, Flu (Influenza), Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR), Polio and Chickenpox (Varicella). A set of vaccinations are considered mandatory for a particular set of travellers only like for Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B and Measles only. Meningitis, Shingles, Pneumonia, Covid19 and Rabies are some conditions whose vaccinations you must take before going to Spain.

What are the other facilities provided by hospitals?

In Spain, hospitals provide additional facilities that make the treatment procedures seamless for travellers. In line with this endeavour, international patient services are available in major hospitals in Spain. Private healthcare insurance is an add on facility that will help you as a medical tourist and it is available in hospitals in Spain. Hospitals in Spain provide many additional facilities as well such as:

  1. Pharmacies
  2. Cafeterias
  3. In-house catering
  4. Physiotherapy
  5. Laboratory services
  6. Transfer and transport services for international medical travellers.
What are the major medical tourism cities in Spain?

Spain is well known for its various medical tourism destinations such as

  • Barcelona
  • Malaga
  • Seville
  • Granada
  • Alicante
  • Madrid

Among these destinations, Madrid healthcare is synonymous with reproductive health services and general healthcare and Barcelona is famous for child healthcare hospitals. Medical tourism is a key focus area in Spain and investments are being planned and implemented to bring this about. The excellent healthcare infrastructure is a major draw for medical tourists coming to Spain and there is continuous upgradation of the same with latest technologies.