تكميم المعدة تكلفة في جنوب أفريقيا

يعتبر علاج فن الطهي بالكم من الإجراءات الطبية المتقدمة التي يتم تنفيذها لتقليل الوزن الزائد للجسم. يقترح على المرشحين الذين تم تشخيصهم بزيادة مؤشر كتلة الجسم أو مؤشر كتلة الجسم الذي يتجاوز 40 ، اتخاذ تدابير عملية لقيادة نمط حياة صحي. يقدم الإجراء نهجًا متقدمًا مع تقليل الآثار الجانبية والمضاعفات ، وبالتالي ، يركز العلماء والجراحون على تنفيذه على نطاق أوسع.

ما هو تكميم المعدة؟

يعد تكميم المعدة أحد الإجراءات الأقل بضعاً والتي يتم إجراؤها بالمنظار. يتضمن الإجراء عدة شقوق في منطقة الجزء العلوي من البطن ، يتم من خلالها إدخال أدوات دقيقة. في هذا ، يتم تقليل حجم المعدة جراحيًا (حوالي 80 ٪ من الأنسجة) ، حتى يبقى هيكل رفيع يشبه الأنبوب. يشبه أنبوب المعدة موزة ، ويقلل من امتصاص الطعام إلى أقصى حد. أثبت هذا الإجراء أنه مثالي في الإفراج عن المشاكل الهرمونية المتعلقة بزيادة وزن الجسم. يتم ذلك أيضًا لمنع أمراض مثل:

  • السمنة المفرطة (غير الصحية)
  • ارتفاع ضغط الدم
  • مرض السكري من النوع الثاني
  • زيادة الكولسترول
  • أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية
  • توقف التنفس أثناء النوم (الانسداد)
  • السكتة الدماغية

أعراض مريض يخضع لعلاج تكميم المعدة

قد يؤدي علاج تكميم المعدة إلى العديد من المشكلات الصحية ذات الصلة السلبية ، والتي يمكن تضمينها في مضاعفات ما بعد الجراحة. في الحالات الشديدة ، تكون عوامل الخطر ذات الصلة:

  • انخفاض مستوى الجلوكوز في الدم (أو حالة نقص السكر في الدم)
  • انسداد الجهاز الهضمي
  • تضيق البطن
  • فتق
  • سوء التغذية
  • القيء والغثيان
  • الارتجاع المعدي
  • بصرف النظر عن الأعراض الطويلة الأمد المذكورة أعلاه ، فإن المخاطر المرتبطة بالإجراء الجراحي هي:
  • تسرب المعدة قطع ينتهي
  • نزيف شديد
  • الالتهابات الرئيسية
  • قضايا الجهاز التنفسي

العوامل المؤثرة على تكلفة استئصال المعدة كم

تختلف تكلفة جراحة تكميم المعدة من الحد الأدنى من 16,000 دولار إلى 18,000 دولار تقريبًا. قد يكلف الإجراء 1/4 من المبلغ إذا كان المرشح الذي يخضع لهذا الإجراء لديه مزايا التأمين الطبي. بصرف النظر عن ذلك ، فإن العوامل الأخرى التي تحدد تكلفة استئصال المعدة كم هي:

  • البلد الذي يتم الاستفادة منه الإجراء
  • مدى الإجراء المطلوب
  • خبرة وكفاءة الجراحين المعنيين
  • عيادات الرعاية الصحية حيث يتم الاستفادة من الإجراء
العلاج والتكلفة

15

مجموع الأيام
في البلد

2 لا. المسافرون

3 يوم في المستشفى

12 مستشفى خارج المستشفى

تكلفة العلاج تبدأ من

USD 8000

المستشفيات

حول تكميم المعدة

يتضمن إجراء الأكمام المعدة ، المعروف أيضًا باسم استئصال المعدة كم ، الاستئصال الجراحي لجزء من المعدة. هذا الإجراء دائم وينوي أن يؤدي إلى فقدان الوزن بشكل كبير في الأفراد الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة.

أثناء إجراء تكميم المعدة ، يتم قطع الجانب الأيسر من المعدة وتصغير الحجم إلى 25 بالمائة فقط من حجمها الأصلي. تبدو المعدة الناتجة مثل "كم" يشبه الموز.

يحد تكميم المعدة الرأسي الناتج من تناول الطعام بسبب انخفاض إنتاج إنزيمات المعدة والعصائر الهضمية. قد تشعر بالشبع بعد تناول كميات صغيرة من الطعام. يُعرف هذا أيضًا باسم "الإجراء المقيد" لأنه يقيد كمية الطعام التي يمكنك تناولها في كل مرة. يتم تنفيذ هذا الإجراء بالمنظار ولا رجعة فيه في طبيعته.

هل من الآمن الحصول على استئصال المعدة؟

ينصح بإجراء الأكمام المعوية للأفراد الذين يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم (BMI) 40 أو أكبر من 40. إنه إجراء آمن تمامًا وهو ذو طبيعة بسيطة.

عند إجراء العملية الجراحية بشكل صحيح ، يحسن استئصال المعدة بأكمام بالمنظار عددًا من الحالات الطبية المرتبطة بالسمنة ، بما في ذلك آلام أسفل الظهر والتهاب المفاصل وارتفاع ضغط الدم واضطرابات القلب وتوقف التنفس أثناء النوم الانسدادي والتهاب الجلد الناتج عن طيات الجلد والسلس البولي ومتلازمة التمثيل الغذائي.

كيف يتم إجراء عملية تكميم المعدة؟

المدة الإجمالية للجراحة حوالي 60 إلى 90 دقيقة. سوف يعطيك جراح استئصال المعدة الخاص بك التخدير العام قبل العملية. يتم إجراء العملية الجراحية بمساعدة منظار البطن.

سيقوم الجراح بإدخال منظار البطن في بطنك بعد عمل شقين إلى خمسة شقوق صغيرة. يمكن تصور الجزء الداخلي من بطنك بمساعدة كاميرا متصلة بالمنظار. بعد ذلك ، سيتم قطع معدتك عموديا  

تتم إزالة حوالي 75 في المائة من المعدة ويتم ربط الجزء المتبقي من المعدة بدبابيس جراحية. يبدو الجزء المحتجز من المعدة الآن وكأنه غلاف يشبه الموز. يتم استئصال الجزء المقطوع من المعدة وخياطة وإغلاق الشقوق الموجودة في البطن. عادةً ما تكون تكلفة تكميم المعدة أعلى مقارنة بالطرق الجراحية الأخرى لفقدان الوزن.

التعافي من تكميم المعدة

عادة ما يتم خروج المريض خلال يومين من العملية. يجب على المريض اتباع الإرشادات التالية للتعافي بسرعة بعد إجراء جراحة في المعدة:

  • خذ حمية ناعمة بعد التفريغ
  • تناول سوائل صافية في يوم الإجراء
  • تستهلك وجبات صغيرة لتجنب تمدد المعدة
  • تناول كميات صغيرة من الطعام
  • تشمل الفيتامينات والمعادن في النظام الغذائي

سوف تبدأ في ملاحظة فقدان الوزن التدريجي بمجرد البدء في الحفاظ على نظام غذائي صحي وممارسة نشاط بدني منتظم. يجب ألا تزيد كمية وجباتك بعد تحقيق فقدان الوزن المستهدف ، حيث إنها قد تمد معدتك. يجب أن تحافظ على نفس مستويات النشاط لمدة سنتين إلى ثلاث سنوات على الأقل.

قصص المرضى

الأسئلة المتكررة

كم تكلف تكميم المعدة في جنوب أفريقيا؟

تبدأ تكلفة عملية تكميم المعدة من 8000 دولار أمريكي في جنوب إفريقيا. تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا متاح في العديد من المستشفيات في ولايات مختلفة.

ما هي العوامل التي تؤثر على تكلفة تكميم المعدة في جنوب أفريقيا؟

تكلفة حزمة تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا لها شوائب واستثناءات مختلفة. تغطي التكلفة التي نقلتها بعض أفضل المستشفيات لعملية تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا عمومًا تحقيقات ما قبل الجراحة للمريض. عادةً ما تشمل تكلفة حزمة تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا النفقات المتعلقة بأتعاب الجراح والتخدير والمستشفى والوجبات والتمريض وإقامة وحدة العناية المركزة. قد يكون لمضاعفات ما بعد الجراحة والنتائج الجديدة وتأخر الشفاء تأثير على التكلفة الإجمالية لعملية تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا.

ما هي بعض أفضل العيادات في جنوب أفريقيا لعلاج تكميم المعدة؟

هناك العديد من المستشفيات في جميع أنحاء البلاد التي تقدم جراحة تكميم المعدة للمرضى الدوليين. تشمل أفضل المستشفيات لعملية تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا ما يلي:

  1. مستشفى الحياة كينجسبري
كم يوما يستغرق التعافي بعد تكميم المعدة في جنوب أفريقيا؟

يختلف شفاء المريض كثيرًا ، اعتمادًا على عدة عوامل. ومع ذلك ، في المتوسط ​​، من المفترض أن يبقى المريض حوالي 15 يومًا في البلاد بعد الخروج من المستشفى. خلال هذا الوقت ، يخضع المريض لفحوصات واستشارات طبية. هذا للتأكد من أن العلاج كان ناجحًا وأن المريض آمن للعودة.

ما هي بعض الوجهات الشعبية الأخرى لعملية تكميم المعدة؟

تعد جنوب إفريقيا واحدة من أفضل الوجهات لإجراء عملية تكميم المعدة. لديها مجموعة متنوعة من المستشفيات المعتمدة ، وتكلفة العلاج المعقولة وبعض من أفضل الأخوة الطبية. ومع ذلك ، هناك دول أخرى كما هو مذكور أدناه تشتهر بعملية تكميم المعدة أيضًا:

الدولةالتكلفة
التشيكUSD 8000
اليونانUSD 8000
الهندUSD 5500
إسرائيلUSD 16500
لبنانUSD 8000
ليتوانياUSD 6600
ماليزياUSD 8700
المغربUSD 6500
بولنداUSD 7200
المملكة العربية السعوديةUSD 8250
سنغافورةUSD 14000
جنوب أفريقياUSD 8000
إسبانياUSD 14800
تايلاندUSD 15000
تونسUSD 6500
تركياUSD 4205
الإمارات العربية المتحدةUSD 8500
المملكة المتحدةUSD 11000
ما هي النفقات الأخرى في جنوب أفريقيا بصرف النظر عن تكلفة تكميم المعدة؟

هناك بعض التكاليف الإضافية التي يجب على المريض دفعها بصرف النظر عن تكلفة تكميم المعدة. قد تبدأ تكلفة اليوم الواحد في هذه الحالة من 50 دولارًا أمريكيًا للشخص الواحد.

ما هي أفضل المدن في جنوب أفريقيا لعملية تكميم المعدة؟

تشمل بعض المدن الشعبية في جنوب إفريقيا التي تقدم تكميم المعدة ما يلي:

  1. ديربان
  2. جوهانسبرج
  3. ينازيا
  4. كيب تاون
كم يوما يجب على المرء أن يقضي في المستشفى من أجل تكميم المعدة في جنوب أفريقيا؟

بعد إجراء عملية تكميم المعدة ، يبلغ متوسط ​​مدة الإقامة في المستشفى حوالي 3 أيام. يخضع المريض للعديد من فحوصات الكيمياء الحيوية والأشعة للتأكد من أن كل شيء على ما يرام وأن التعافي يسير على الطريق الصحيح. بعد التأكد من أن المريض مستقر سريريًا ، يتم التخطيط للخروج.

ما هو متوسط ​​تصنيف المستشفيات في جنوب إفريقيا التي تقدم تكميم المعدة؟

متوسط ​​تصنيف مستشفيات تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا هو 2.9. يتم احتساب هذا التصنيف تلقائيًا على أساس عدة معايير مثل البنية التحتية للمستشفى وجودة الخدمات ودعم التمريض والخدمات الأخرى.

كم عدد المستشفيات التي تقدم تكميم المعدة في جنوب أفريقيا؟

هناك أكثر من 1 مستشفى تقدم تكميم المعدة في جنوب إفريقيا. تمت الموافقة على المستشفيات المذكورة أعلاه لإجراء الجراحة ولديها بنية تحتية مناسبة للتعامل مع مرضى تكميم المعدة. تتوافق هذه المستشفيات مع جميع القواعد واللوائح التي تمليها الهيئات التنظيمية والجمعيات الطبية في جنوب إفريقيا

الأسئلة الشائعة المتعلقة بجنوب إفريقيا

ما هي مجموعات المستشفيات متعددة التخصصات الشعبية في جنوب إفريقيا؟

تعد جنوب إفريقيا واحدة من وجهات السياحة العلاجية الرائدة مع المستشفيات الكبرى ، مثل:

  1. مستشفى احمد القاضي الخاص
  2. مستشفى بوساميد هيلكريست الخاص
  3. مستشفى Busamed Gateway الخاص
  4. مستشفى Busamed Modderfontein الخاص
  5. مستشفى بوساميد لوفيلد
  6. مستشفى ومركز القلب Lenmed Ethekwini
  7. Busamed Paardevlei Private Hospital
  8. مستشفى لايف باى فيو الخاصة
  9. مستشفى لينمد الشفاء

لقد نقلت هذه المستشفيات تجربة المريض إلى المستوى التالي من خلال ضمان الأشياء التالية:

  1. توفير معلومات واضحة عن الأدوية للمرضى
  2. المشاركة الفعالة بين طاقم التمريض / الأطباء والمرضى ؛
  3. ملاءمة بيئة المستشفى لتلبية احتياجات المرضى
  4. إدارة الألم بشكل فعال.

من خلال توفير علاج عالمي المستوى ، تلتزم المستشفيات بقوانين الرعاية الصحية الصارمة وتلتزم أيضًا بالبروتوكولات الطبية والمعايير الدولية لضمان جودة الرعاية. المستشفيات لديها أطباء على مستوى عالمي وبنية تحتية من الدرجة الأولى وتوفر مجموعة واسعة من المرافق لتلبية احتياجات المرضى.

ما هي معايير اعتماد الرعاية الصحية المتبعة في جنوب إفريقيا؟

تم اعتماد نظام الرعاية الصحية في جنوب إفريقيا من قبل اللجنة المشتركة الدولية (JCI) ومجلس اعتماد الخدمات الصحية في جنوب إفريقيا (COHSASA). كوهساسا مسؤولة عن تطوير وتقييم المعايير في جميع قطاعات وأقسام مرفق الرعاية الصحية لضمان تقديم المستشفيات رعاية متكاملة ومنسقة. يضمن برنامج SafeCare الذي أطلقته COHSASA و JCI و SafeCare Foundation تنفيذ المعايير المعترف بها دوليًا لتحسين تقديم الرعاية الصحية. تُمنح المستشفيات والعيادات التي تفي بالمعايير في البداية وتفي بالمعايير اعتمادات لمدة عامين ، ومع استمرار رحلة التميز ، يتم منح جوائز لمدة أطول.

لماذا يجب أن أختار الرعاية الصحية في جنوب إفريقيا؟

تعد جنوب إفريقيا واحدة من وجهات السياحة الطبية الرائدة ، وتقدم رعاية صحية ميسورة التكلفة ولديها بنية تحتية فائقة. أصبحت جنوب إفريقيا مركزًا للسياحة العلاجية لعدة أسباب أخرى مثل التكنولوجيا المتقدمة والعديد من المرافق التي تقدمها المستشفيات والأطباء المدربون في الخارج ومجموعة كبيرة من المستشفيات المعتمدة. ساعدت القوانين الليبرالية لاستخدام الخلايا الجذعية في جنوب إفريقيا في جذب عدد كبير من السياح الطبيين لتلقي العلاج الطبي المتقدم. تسعى المستشفيات في جنوب إفريقيا إلى التخلص من ضغوط إجازتك الطبية من خلال مساعدتك في جميع أنواع المهام التنظيمية والإدارية ، فضلاً عن توفير الرعاية والمساعدة الشاملة كليًا على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع.

كيف هي جودة الأطباء في جنوب افريقيا؟

يسعى الأطباء في جنوب إفريقيا إلى تقديم علاج عالي الجودة باستخدام معرفتهم العميقة بالموضوع والخبرة العملية في التعامل مع مختلف الحالات المعقدة. يتلقى العديد من الأطباء في جنوب إفريقيا تدريبهم في دول أجنبية مثل أستراليا وكوبا مما يوفر لهم التعرض العالمي ويجعلهم أكثر كفاءة في التعامل مع الحالات بدقة عالية ودقة. يقدم الأطباء نتائج رائعة في إجراءات طب الأسنان وعلاجات الخصوبة ويوفرون رضا المريض التام من خلال نهج شامل. تُعزى الجودة العالية للأطباء في الدولة إلى عوامل مثل نهجهم الذي يركز على المريض ، ودمج اللمسة الإنسانية في العلاج ، والتعليم في الكليات ذات السمعة الطيبة ، والالتزام بالمعايير العالمية.

كيف تحصل على تأشيرة طبية في جنوب إفريقيا؟

يمكنك الاستفادة من تأشيرة طبية إلى جنوب إفريقيا والبقاء في الدولة لمدة 90 يومًا لطلب العلاج. يتم تحديد تمديد إضافي لفترة الإقامة من قبل المفوضية العليا للبلد الذي ينتمي إليه المريض. يجب على الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى علاج طبي لمدة تزيد عن ثلاثة أشهر التقدم للحصول على تصريح إقامة مؤقتة. تبدأ صلاحية التأشيرة من يوم منحها من قبل المفوضية العليا وليس في تاريخ المغادرة. أيضًا ، لن يتم قبول طلبات التأشيرة قبل أكثر من 30 يومًا من المغادرة. تحتاج إلى تقديم المستندات التالية لتقديم طلب للحصول على تأشيرة طبية:

  1. جواز سفر
  2. صور بحجم جواز السفر
  3. نموذج طلب عبر الإنترنت
  4. حجز رحلة العودة كاملة
  5. إثبات الإقامة في جنوب إفريقيا
  6. كتاب طبي رسمي موقع من المؤسسة الطبية
  7. خطاب طبي موقع من ممارس محلي معترف به
ما هي الإجراءات الشعبية المتوفرة في جنوب إفريقيا؟

أكثر الإجراءات المرغوبة في جنوب إفريقيا هي الاستبدال الكامل للركبة ، وإصلاح الغضروف المفصلي ، واستبدال الورك ، وإعادة بناء الرباط الصليبي الأمامي (ACL). تعد الجراحة التجميلية وعلاج العقم من الإجراءات الشائعة الأخرى في جنوب إفريقيا والتي تحقق نسبة نجاح عالية. شهد علاج الخصوبة من خلال التبرع بالبويضات معدل نجاح مرتفعًا في جنوب إفريقيا حيث يمكن للشخص أن يختار إجراءً جراحيًا أو غير جراحي ، مع فترات انتظار منخفضة جدًا. العلاج منخفض التكلفة ، التعافي السريع ، استخدام التكنولوجيا الطبية المتقدمة ، والأطباء المدربين تدريباً عالياً هي بعض أسباب شعبية هذه الإجراءات.

ما هي المدن الأكثر شعبية في جنوب إفريقيا للعلاج الطبي؟

يوجد في جنوب إفريقيا عدد من المراكز الحضرية الحديثة ، مثل كيب تاون وجوهانسبرغ وبريتوريا وديربان. كيب تاون هي مركز السياحة العلاجية التي يزورها عدد كبير من الناس من مختلف الأعراق والثقافات بسبب الأطباء العالميين والمستشفيات الحديثة. يعد نظام النقل العام الفعال ، والإقامة بأسعار معقولة ، والاتصال من خلال شركات الطيران ، ومجموعة واسعة من خيارات الطعام من بين أسباب شعبية هذه المدن بين السياح الطبيين. تنسق صناعة الرعاية الصحية العامة والخاصة في جوهانسبرج مع كليات الطب في جنوب إفريقيا لإنشاء متخصصين طبيين معترف بهم دوليًا وجودة الرعاية الطبية على قدم المساواة مع بريطانيا العظمى.

هل التطعيمات إلزامية قبل الذهاب إلى جنوب إفريقيا؟

نعم ، التطعيم إلزامي قبل السفر إلى جنوب إفريقيا. بعض اللقاحات التي أوصت بها منظمة الصحة العالمية والشبكة الوطنية لصحة السفر والمركز هي الحمى الصفراء والتهاب الكبد A وداء الكلب والكزاز والتهاب الكبد B والتيفوئيد والكوليرا. الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 6 و 11 شهرًا أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالحصبة ، لذلك يجب أن يحصلوا على لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية قبل السفر إلى جنوب إفريقيا. يوصى دائمًا بالحصول على لقاح التيفود إذا كنت ستقيم مع الأصدقاء أو الأقارب أو تزور المدن الأصغر أو المناطق الريفية في جنوب إفريقيا. تتغير إرشادات التطعيم بمرور الوقت ، لذا ابق على اطلاع دائم بإرشادات السفر الصادرة عن الحكومة. يمكنك أيضًا مراجعة الأطباء أو المستشفيات في جنوب إفريقيا للحصول على اللقاحات المطلوبة.

هل تعرف؟

قامت MediGence بالتفاوض مسبقًا على أسعار مجمعة للعديد من الإجراءات الجراحية التي تساعدك على توفير التكلفة والاستفادة من مزايا لا مثيل لها

اكتشف أفضل عروضنا

اسأل مستشار الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك عن أفضل الخيارات المتعددة واختر الخيار الذي يلبي توقعاتك

يسعد فريق خبراء الرعاية الصحية لدينا بمساعدتك

تواصل معنا
أو اتصَّل بـ

1 424 283 (4838+)

Sleeve Gastrectomy cost in South Africa

Sleeve gastronomy treatment is one of the advanced medical procedures which is implemented in order to reduce excessive body weight. Candidates who are diagnosed with increased Body Mass Index or BMI exceeding 40, are suggested with operative measures in order to lead a healthy lifestyle. The procedure offers a progressed approach with reduced side effects and complications, and thus, scientists and surgeons are focusing on implementing it on a larger scale.

What is Sleeve Gastrectomy?

Sleeve gastrectomy is one of the minimally invasive procedures, which is performed laparoscopically. The procedure involves several incisions made in the upper abdomen region, through which fine instruments are inserted. In this, the stomach is surgically reduced in size (approximately 80% of the tissue), until a slim tube-like structure remains. The stomach tube resembles a banana, and efficiently reduces food absorption utmost. This procedure has proven ideal in releasing hormonal issues related with body weight surge. It is also done to prevent diseases like:

  • Extreme (unhealthy) obesity
  • High blood pressure
  • Type II Diabetes
  • Increased cholesterol
  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Sleep apnea (obstructive)
  • Stroke

Symptoms of a patient undergoing Sleeve Gastrectomy treatment

Sleeve gastrectomy treatment might lead to several adverse health related issues, which can be included in post-operative complications. In severe cases, the related risk factors are:

  • Lowered Blood Glucose Level (or hypoglycemic condition)
  • Gastrointestinal obstruction
  • Stomal stenosis
  • Hernia
  • Malnutrition
  • Vomiting and nausea
  • Gastroesophageal reflux
  • Apart from the above mentioned long-term symptoms of the procedure, the risks attached to the surgical procedure are:
  • Leakage of the cut stomach ends
  • Excessive bleeding
  • Major infections
  • Respiratory issues

Factors Affecting the Cost of Sleeve Gastrectomy

Sleeve gastrectomy surgery cost varies from a minimum of $16,000 to $18,000 approximately. The procedure may cost 1/4th of the amount if the candidate undergoing the procedure has medical insurance benefits availed. Apart from that, the other factors that determine the cost of sleeve gastrectomy are:

  • Country where the procedure is being availed from
  • The extent of procedure required
  • The experience and proficiency of surgeons involved
  • Healthcare clinics where the procedure is being availed from
Treatment and Cost

15

Total Days
In Country

2 No. Travelers

3 Day in Hospital

12 Days Outside Hospital

Treatment cost starts from

USD 8000

Hospitals

About the Sleeve Gastrectomy

Gastric sleeve procedure, also known as sleeve gastrectomy, involves surgical removal of part of a stomach. This procedure is a permanent one and intends to result in drastic weight loss in individuals suffering from morbid obesity.

During the gastric sleeve procedure, the left side of the stomach is cut and the size is reduced to just 25 percent of its original size. The resulting stomach looks like a banana-like “sleeve.”

The resulting vertical gastric sleeve limits the intake of food due to reduced production of gastric enzymes and digestive juices. You may feel full after eating small amounts of food. This is also known as a “restrictive procedure” as it restricts the amount of food that you can consume at a time. This procedure is performed laparoscopically and is irreversible in nature.

Is it safe to have sleeve gastrectomy?

Gastric sleeve procedure is recommended to individuals whose body mass index (BMI) is 40 or greater than 40. It is a completely safe procedure and is minimally invasive in nature.

When performed correctly, laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy improves a number of obesity-related medical conditions, including low back pain, arthritis, hypertension, cardiac disorders, obstructive sleep apnea, dermatitis due to skin folds, urinary incontinence, and metabolic syndrome.

How is Sleeve Gastrectomy performed?

The total duration of surgery is about 60 to 90 minutes. Your sleeve gastrectomy surgeon will give you general anaesthesia before the procedure. The surgery is performed with the help of a laparoscope.

The surgeon will insert the laparoscope into your belly after making two to five small incisions. The inside of your belly can be visualized with the help of a camera attached to the laparoscope. After that, your stomach will be cut vertically  

Around 75 percent of the stomach is removed and the remaining part of the stomach is joined with surgical staples. The retained portion of the stomach now looks like a banana-like sleeve. The cut part of the stomach is removed, and the incisions in the abdomen are stitched and closed.  The gastric sleeve cost is typically higher as compared to other surgical methods of weight loss.

Recovery from Sleeve Gastrectomy

The patient is typically discharged within two days of the procedure. The patient should follow the following instructions to recover quickly after gastric sleeve surgery:

  • Take soft diet after discharge
  • Take clear liquids on the day of the procedure
  • Consume small meals to avoid stretching of the stomach
  • Eat small quantities of food
  • Include vitamins and minerals in the diet

You will start noticing gradual weight loss once you start to maintain a healthy diet and regular physical activity. You should not increase your quantity of meals after achieving targeted weight loss, as it may stretch your stomach. You should maintain the same activity levels for at least two to three years.

Patient Stories

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Sleeve Gastrectomy cost in South Africa?

The cost of Sleeve Gastrectomy procedure starts from USD 8000 in South Africa. Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa is available across many hospitals in different states.

What are the factors affecting the cost of Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa?

Sleeve Gastrectomy package cost in South Africa has different inclusions and exclusions. The cost quoted by some of the best hospitals for Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa generally covers the pre-surgery investigations of the patient. Typically, the package cost of Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa includes the expenses related to the surgeon's fee, anesthesia, hospital, meals, nursing and ICU stay. Post-surgical complications, new findings and delayed recovery may have an impact on the total Sleeve Gastrectomy cost in South Africa.

Which are some of the best clinics in South Africa for Sleeve Gastrectomyt?

There are many hospitals across the country that offer Sleeve Gastrectomy to international patients. The top hospitals for Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa include the following:

  1. Life Kingsbury Hospital
How many days does it take to recover post Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa?

The recovery of the patient many vary, depending on several factors. However, on an average, patient is supposed to stay for about 15 days in the country after discharge. During this time, the patient undergoes medical tests and consultations. this is to ensure that the treatment was successful and the patient us safe to return.

Which are some of the other popular destinations for Sleeve Gastrectomy?

One of the topmost destinations for Sleeve Gastrectomy is South Africa. It has a variety of accredited hospital, affordable cost of treatment and some of the best medical fraternity. However, there are other countries as mentioned below that are popular for Sleeve Gastrectomy as well:

CountryCost
CzechiaUSD 8000
GreeceUSD 8000
IndiaUSD 5500
IsraelUSD 16500
LebanonUSD 8000
LithuaniaUSD 6600
MalaysiaUSD 8700
MoroccoUSD 6500
PolandUSD 7200
Saudi ArabiaUSD 8250
SingaporeUSD 14000
South AfricaUSD 8000
SpainUSD 14800
ThailandUSD 15000
TunisiaUSD 6500
TurkeyUSD 4205
United Arab EmiratesUSD 8500
United KingdomUSD 11000
How much are the other expenses in South Africa apart from the cost of Sleeve Gastrectomy?

There are certain additional cost that the patient has to pay apart from the Sleeve Gastrectomy cost. The per day cost in this case may start from USD 50 per person.

Which are the best cities in South Africa for Sleeve Gastrectomy Procedure?

Some of the cpopular cities in South Africa that offer Sleeve Gastrectomy include the following:

  1. Durban
  2. Johannesburg
  3. Lenasia
  4. Cape Town
How many days does one have to spend in the hospital for Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa?

After the Sleeve Gastrectomy takes place, the average duration of stay at the hospital is about 3 days. The patient is subjected to several biochemistry and radiological scans to see that everything is okay and the recovery is on track. After making sure that patient is clinically stable, discharge is planned.

What is the average rating of Hospitals in South Africa offering Sleeve Gastrectomy?

The average rating for Sleeve Gastrectomy hospitals in South Africa is 2.9. This rating is automatically calculated on the basis of several parameters such as the infrastructure of the hospital, quality of services, nursing support and other services.

How many hospitals offer Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa?

There are more than 1 hospitals that offer Sleeve Gastrectomy in South Africa. The above listed hospitals are approved to perform the surgery and have proper infrastructure to handle Sleeve Gastrectomy patients. These hospitals comply with all the rules and regulations as dictated by the regulatory bodies and medical association in South Africa

FAQ's Related to South Africa

Which are the popular multispecialty hospital groups in South Africa?

South Africa is one of the leading medical tourism destinations with top hospitals, such as:

  1. Ahmed Al-Kadi Private Hospital
  2. Busamed Hillcrest Private Hospital
  3. Busamed Gateway Private Hospital
  4. Busamed Modderfontein Private Hospital
  5. Busamed Lowveld Hospital
  6. Lenmed Ethekwini Hospital and Heart Centre
  7. Busamed Paardevlei Private Hospital
  8. Life Bay View Private Hospital
  9. Lenmed Shifa Hospital

These hospitals have taken the patient experience to the next level by ensuring the below things:

  1. Providing clear information about medicines to patients
  2. Effective engagement between nursing staff/doctors and patients;
  3. Suitability of the hospital environment for meeting the needs of patients
  4. Effectively managing pain.

Providing world-class treatment, the hospitals comply with strict healthcare laws and also adhere to medical protocols and international standards to ensure quality care. The hospitals have world-class doctors and top-notch infrastructure and provide a wide range of facilities to meet the needs of patients.

What healthcare accreditation standards are followed in South Africa?

The healthcare system in South Africa is accredited by Joint Commission International (JCI) and Council for Health Service Accreditation of Southern Africa (COHSASA). COHSASA is responsible for developing and evaluating standards in all sectors and departments of a healthcare facility to ensure hospitals provide integrated and coordinated care. The SafeCare program launched by COHSASA, JCI, and SafeCare Foundation ensures the implementation of internationally recognized standards to improve health care delivery. Hospitals and clinics that initially and meet standards are awarded two-year accreditations and as the journey in excellence continues, awards of longer duration are given.

Why should I opt for healthcare in South Africa?

One of the leading medical tourism destinations, South Africa offers affordable healthcare and has superior infrastructure. South Africa has become the epicenter of medical tourism because of several other reasons like advanced technology, several facilities provided by hospitals, doctors trained abroad, and a large pool of accredited hospitals. Liberal laws for the use of stem cells in South Africa have helped it attract a large number of medical tourists for advanced medical treatment. The hospitals in South Africa strive to take the stress out of your medical holiday by helping you with all kinds of organization and administrative tasks, as well as provide all-inclusive care and assistance on a 24/7 basis.

How is the quality of doctors in South Africa?

The doctors in South Africa strive to provide quality treatment utilizing their deep subject knowledge and hands-on experience in handling various complex cases. Many doctors in South Africa receive their training in foreign countries like Australia and Cuba which provide them global exposure and make them more competent in handling cases with high precision and accuracy. The doctors deliver great results in dental procedures and fertility treatments and provide complete patient satisfaction through a holistic approach. The high quality of doctors in the country is attributed to factors like their patient-centric approach, incorporation of the human touch in treatment, education at reputed colleges, and adherence to global standards.

How to obtain a medical visa in South Africa?

You can avail a medical visa to South Africa and stay in the country for 90 days to seek treatment. Further extension of the duration of the stay is decided by the High Commission of the country where the patient belongs from. People who require medical treatment for longer than three months must apply for a temporary residency permit. The validity of a visa starts the day it is granted by the High Commission and not on the date of departure. Also, visa applications will not be accepted more than 30 days prior to departure. You need to produce the below documents to apply for a medical visa:

  1. Passport
  2. Passport-sized photographs
  3. Online Application form
  4. Full return flight reservation
  5. Proof of stay in South Africa
  6. Signed official medical letter from medical institution
  7. Signed medical letter from a recognized local practitioner
What are the popular procedures available in South Africa?

The most sought-after procedures in South Africa are total knee replacement, meniscus repairs, hip replacement, anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) reconstruction. Cosmetic surgery and infertility treatment are some of the other popular procedures in South Africa which have a high success rate. Fertility treatment through egg donation has seen a high success rate in South Africa wherein a person can opt for a surgical or non-surgical procedure, with quite low waiting times. Low-cost treatment, fast recovery, use of advanced medical technology, and highly trained doctors are some of the reasons for the popularity of these procedures.

Which are the most popular cities in South Africa for medical treatment?

South Africa has a number of modern urban centers, such as Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria, and Durban. Cape Town is the medical tourism hub visited by a large number of people from different ethnicity and cultures due to world-class doctors and state-of-the-art hospitals. An efficient public transportation system, affordable accommodation, connectivity through airlines, and a wide range of food options are some of the reasons for the popularity of these cities among medical tourists. Johannesburg’s public and private healthcare industry coordinates with South Africa's medical schools to create internationally recognized medical specialists and the quality of medical care is on par with Great Britain.

Is it mandatory to take vaccinations before going to South Africa?

Yes, vaccination is mandatory before you travel to South Africa. Some of the vaccines recommended by WHO and the National Travel Health Network and Centre are Yellow fever, hepatitis A, rabies and tetanus, hepatitis B, typhoid, cholera. Infants of 6 to 11 months old are at greater risk of contracting measles, so they must get MMR vaccine before travelling to South Africa. It is always recommended that you get typhoid vaccination if you are going to stay with friends or relatives or visiting smaller cities or rural areas of South Africa. Vaccination guidelines change with time, so keep yourself updated with the travel advisory released by the government. You can also check with doctors or hospitals in South Africa for the required vaccines.

Do you know?

MediGence has pre-negotiated bundled pricing for many surgical procedures that helps you save cost and avail unmatched benefits

Explore our Best Offers

Ask your healthcare adviser for the best multiple options and choose the one that meets your expectations

Our team of healthcare experts would be happy to assist you

Get In Touch
or call

(+1) 424 283 4838