Tunisia
n/a
Saudi Arabia
n/a
Switzerland
n/a
Lebanon
n/a
South Africa
n/a
India
$3000
Turkey
$6000
Lithuania
$7000
Hungary
$7000
Poland
$7300
Thailand
$9000
Malaysia
$9500
Greece
$10000
Spain
$11000
U.A.E.
$11000
Czechia
$12000
South Korea
$13000
Israel
$18000
Singapore
$20000
United Kingdom
$20500
  • travellers

    2 Nbre de voyageurs

  • hospital

    1 Journée à l'hôpital

  • outdie-hospital

    13 Jour à l'extérieur de l'hôpital

  • travel

    14 Nombre total de jours dans le pays

Aperçu

La microdiscectomie est également connue sous le nom de microdécompression ou microdiscectomie cervicale. C'est l'une des interventions chirurgicales de la colonne vertébrale les plus couramment pratiquées.

Microdiscectomie or microdiscectomie cervicale est préférable pour les patients avec hernie discale lombaire. L'objectif principal d'un discectomie est de soulager la pression sur une racine nerveuse spinale en enlevant le matériau causant la douleur. Traditionnellement, cet objectif était résolu par une technique ouverte appelée chirurgie de discectomie lombaire, qui consiste à faire une grande incision pour couper certains muscles du dos, conduisant à une récupération lente et douloureuse. De nos jours, une forme avancée de chirurgie appelée microdiscectomie peut atteindre le même objectif qu'avec l'aide d'une petite incision et moins de blessures aux muscles du dos. En conséquence, la récupération prend moins de temps et est moins douloureuse.  Un microscope spécial est utilisé en microdiscectomie pour visualiser le disque et les nerfs. La vue plus large permet au chirurgien de faire une plus petite incision, causant moins de dommages aux tissus environnants.

 

Quand une microdiscectomie est-elle nécessaire?

Sciatique est une affection causée par la compression du nerf rachidien, qui se traduit généralement par une douleur chronique dans les jambes des patients. Cette compression du nerf rachidien est souvent le résultat d'un hernie discale lombaire.  Comme une herniegrandit, le tissu endommagé s'étend dans la colonne vertébrale et pousse sur les nerfs. Cette condition fait que les nerfs envoient des signaux de douleur au cerveau et le cerveau interprète la source de la douleur comme venant des jambes.

Le plus souvent, la sciatique guérit naturellement ou à l'aide de médicaments en quelques semaines. Mais, si la sciatique dure plus de 12 semaines après la prise de médicaments oraux, les patients peuvent bénéficier de discectomie. La discectomie est également utilisée pour le traitement de la spondylose et de la sténose rachidienne lombaire. Alors que la spondylose survient en raison d'une arthrose dégénérative des vertèbres, la sténose rachidienne lombaire se produit en raison d'un rétrécissement du canal rachidien entraînant une compression nerveuse. Ce dernier peut également justifier la nécessité d'une chirurgie de la sténose vertébrale.

Explorez le meilleur hôpital pour la microdiscectomie

En savoir plus

Avant le traitement

Il peut vous être conseillé de subir un certain nombre de tests diagnostiques et sanguins de routine avant la procédure. On peut même vous conseiller d'arrêter certains médicaments et l'alcool bien avant le jour de la chirurgie. Vous ne devez rien manger ni boire au moins 12 heures avant l'heure prévue de la chirurgie.

Comment il est exécuté

Chirurgie de discectomie lombaire est généralement effectuée pour la réhabilitation d'un hernie discale. La même chose est faite pendant microdiscectomie, mais à l'aide d'un microscope spécial. Au cours de cette procédure, une petite partie de l'os sur la racine nerveuse et le matériau du disque sous la racine nerveuse est retirée, ce qui a finalement pour effet de soulager la pression sur la colonne nerveuse vertébrale. Le traitement de microdiscectomie commence par administrer une anesthésie générale au patient. Le patient sera inconscient pendant toute la durée de l'intervention et ne pourra rien ressentir. Des antibiotiques intraveineux préopératoires sont administrés avant la chirurgie.

La procédure est réalisée avec le patient couché face contre terre, généralement en utilisant une table d'opération spéciale avec des rembourrages spéciaux. La zone chirurgicale est nettoyée avec une solution de nettoyage.  Une incision d'un à deux centimètres est pratiquée directement sur la zone de la hernie discale. Des écarteurs spéciaux et un microscope opératoire éclairé sont utilisés pour permettre au chirurgien de voir la région de la colonne vertébrale. Il aide à minimiser ou à éviter de couper les muscles et les tissus adjacents.

Avant de retirer une hernie discale, un petit morceau d'os appelé lamina est retiré de la vertèbre affectée. C'est ce qu'on appelle un laminotomie, une procédure qui permet au chirurgien de visualiser complètement la hernie discale. De petits outils en forme de ciseaux et des instruments de préhension sont utilisés pour retirer le disque en saillie. Enfin, la zone d'incision est lavée avec de l'eau stérile contenant des antibiotiques et la couche fasciale profonde et les couches sous-cutanées sont fermées avec quelques sutures. La peau est fixée à l'aide d'une colle chirurgicale spéciale et ne nécessite pas de bandages.

Récupération

Le temps de récupération de la microdiscectomie est bien inférieur à celui de toute autre procédure invasive. En règle générale, le patient peut s'attendre à quitter l'hôpital dans les 24 heures suivant la chirurgie. Les patients peuvent être invités à rencontrer un physiothérapeute avant de quitter l'hôpital. Le thérapeute expliquera au patient comment réduire la torsion et la flexion du dos. Le thérapeute peut conseiller certains exercices pour améliorer la force et la flexibilité des muscles autour de la colonne vertébrale.

Il est conseillé aux patients de ne pas conduire, de rester assis pendant une période prolongée, de soulever tout objet lourd et de se pencher immédiatement après la chirurgie. Le patient est capable de reprendre ses activités normales après deux semaines, mais il est conseillé d'éviter de soulever des objets lourds pendant au moins quatre semaines après la chirurgie. La récupération complète après la procédure de microdiscectomie prend au moins quatre à six semaines.

Microdiscectomie: risques et complications

La microdiscectomie est une option de soulagement de la douleur plus rapide que le traitement non chirurgical en cas de hernie discale lombaire, mais il n'est pas vraiment clair que la chirurgie fasse une différence dans le traitement qui pourrait être nécessaire plus tard.

Certains chercheurs post-microdiscectomie ont déterminé que les personnes qui ont subi une microdiscectomie ont signalé des améliorations similaires à celles d'autres traitements après un an de chirurgie. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une procédure moins invasive par rapport à d'autres traitements tels que la fusion vertébrale, la microdiscectomie comporte également certains risques comme toute autre chirurgie.

Certains des risques courants de microdiscectomie sont:

  • Le tout premier risque est que la chirurgie ne fonctionne pas toujours ou qu'elle ne fonctionne pas mieux que tout autre traitement
  • Il y a un risque minimal d'endommager la colonne vertébrale ou tout autre nerf
  • Il y a un léger risque d'infections
  • Saignement
  • Fuite de liquide céphalo-rachidien
  • Problèmes associés à l'anesthésie générale

Obtenez le coût du traitement pour la microdiscectomie et les voyages

cliquez ici.

QFP

Q: Combien de temps faut-il pour se remettre d'une microdiscectomie?

R: Il est conseillé aux patients de limiter les mouvements simples tels que la flexion, le levage et la torsion pendant au moins six semaines après la chirurgie. Peu à peu, ils peuvent retrouver leur niveau d'activité normal.

Q: La microdiscectomie est-elle sans danger?

R: Une microdiscectomie est une procédure sûre. Cependant, comme toute autre chirurgie, cette procédure peut entraîner des complications dans seulement un à deux pour cent des cas.

Q: Combien de temps faut-il pour effectuer une microdiscectomie?

R: Cette procédure peut prendre une à deux heures.

Q: Quel est le taux de réussite de la microdiscectomie?

R: Le taux de réussite de cette procédure est supérieur à 90%.

Q: Combien de temps ne pourrai-je pas travailler après une microdiscectomie?

R: La plupart des patients sont en mesure de reprendre le travail avec des activités légères après une à deux semaines de chirurgie. Cependant, la guérison complète peut prendre environ six semaines, après quoi le patient peut reprendre un travail intense et faire du sport.

Q: Quels sont les risques d'une discectomie?

R: Les saignements, les infections, les lésions des racines nerveuses, la douleur constante et la thrombose veineuse profonde sont quelques-uns des rares risques de discectomie.

Histoires de patients

  • Patient Testimonial from USA for Microdiscectomy Treatment

    Mr. Robinson TreyUnited States
  • Mr. James Evans Underwent Microdiscectomy Surgery at LIV Hospital in Turkey

    Mr. James EvansUnited States

S'il vous plaît renseigner

Microdiscectomie

Microdiscectomy

Turkey
n/a
India
$4000
Thailand
$9500
Singapore
$12500
U.A.E.
$14750
Hungary
$15500
  • travellers

    2 No. Of Travellers

  • hospital

    4 Day In Hospital

  • outdie-hospital

    3 Day Outside Hospital

  • travel

    7 Total Days In India

Overview

Microdiscectomy is also known as microdecompression or cervical microdiscectomy. It is one of the most commonly performed spine surgery procedures.

Microdiscectomy or cervical microdiscectomy is preferred for patients with a lumbar herniated disc. The main goal of a discectomy is to relieve the pressure on a spinal nerve root by removing the material causing the pain. Traditionally, this purpose was solved by an open technique called lumbar discectomy surgery, which involves making a large incision to cut some of the back muscles, leading to a slow and painful recovery. Nowadays, an advanced form of surgery called microdiscectomy can achieve the same goal that too with the help of a small incision and fewer injury to back muscles. As a result, the recovery takes less time and is less painful.  A special microscope is used in microdiscectomy to view the disc and nerves. The larger view allows the surgeon to make a smaller incision, causing less damage to the surrounding tissues.

 

When is microdiscectomy needed?

Sciatica is a condition caused by compression of the spinal nerve, which generally results in chronic pain in the legs of the patients. This compression of the spinal nerve is frequently the result of a herniated lumbar disc.  As a hernia grows, the damaged tissue extends into the spinal column and pushes on the nerves. This condition causes the nerves to send pain signals to the brain and the brain interprets the pain source to be coming from the legs.

Most commonly, sciatica heals naturally or with the help of medication in a few weeks. But, if sciatica lasts more than 12 weeks after taking oral medicines, patients may benefit from discectomy. Discectomy is also used for the treatment of spondylosis and lumbar spinal stenosis. While spondylosis occurs due to degenerative osteoarthritis of the vertebrae, lumbar spinal stenosis occurs due to narrowing of the spinal canal leading to nerve compression. The latter may also warrant the need for a spinal stenosis surgery.

Explore Best Hospital for Microdiscectomy

Find out more

Before the Treatment

You may be advised to undergo a number of routine diagnostic and blood tests before the procedure. You may even be advised to stop certain medications and alcohol well before the day of the surgery. You should not eat or drink anything at least 12 hours before the scheduled time of surgery.

How it is Performed

Lumbar discectomy surgery is typically performed for rehabilitation of a herniated disc. The same thing is done during microdiscectomy, but with the help of a special microscope. During this procedure, a small part of the bone over the nerve root and disc material under the nerve root is taken out, which finally result in relieving pressure on the spinal nerve column. The microdiscectomy treatment starts by giving general anesthesia to the patient. The patient will be unconscious during the entire surgery and is not able to feel anything. Preoperative intravenous antibiotics are given before the surgery.

The procedure is performed with the patient lying face down, generally using a special operating table with special paddings. The surgical region is cleansed with a cleaning solution.  A one-to two-centimeter incision is made directly over the area of the herniated disc. Special retractors and a lighted operating microscope are used to allow the surgeon to see the region of the spine. It helps in minimizing or avoid cutting of the adjacent muscles and tissues.

Before removing a herniated disc, a small piece of bone called lamina is removed from the affected vertebra. This is called a laminotomy, a procedure which allows the surgeon to fully visualize the herniated disc. Small scissor-like tools and grasping instruments are used to remove the protruding disc material. Lastly, the incision area is washed out with sterile water containing antibiotics and the deep fascial layer and subcutaneous layers are closed with a few sutures. The skin is fixed up using special surgical glue and does not require bandages.

Recovery

The microdiscectomy recovery time is much less than any other invasive procedure. Typically, the patient can expect to leave the hospital within 24 hours of the surgery. Patients may be advised to meet a physical therapist before leaving the hospital.  The therapist will instruct the patient on how to reduce twisting and bending of the back. The therapist may advise some exercises to improve the strength and flexibility of the muscles around the spine.

Patients are advised not to drive, sit for a prolonged period, lift anything heavy and bend over immediately after the surgery. The patient is able to resume normal activities after two weeks, but they are advised to avoid lifting heavy objects for at least four weeks after the surgery. Full recovery after microdiscectomy procedure takes at least four to six weeks.

Microdiscectomy: Risks and Complications

Microdiscectomy is a faster pain relief option than nonsurgical treatment in case of a lumbar herniated disc, but it is not significantly clear that whether surgery makes a difference in what treatment may be needed later on.

Some post-microdiscectomy researchers determined that people who have had microdiscectomy have reported similar improvements as other treatments after one year of surgery. Although it is a less invasive procedure in comparison to other treatment such as spinal fusion, microdiscectomy also involves certain risks just like any other surgery.

Some of the common microdiscectomy risks are:

  • The very first risk is that surgery does not always work, or it may not work better than any other treatment
  • There is a minimal risk of damaging the spine or any other nerves
  • There is a slight risk of some kind of infections
  • Bleeding
  • Leaking spinal fluid
  • Problems associated with general anesthesia


Microdiscectomy Side Effects

Microdiscectomy is generally considered a safe procedure and does not involve any major side effects. However, some healing medicines and the use of general anesthesia during the surgery can result in some mild side effects. The patients should contact their doctor if they experience any symptoms for more than 24 hours after the surgery.

Pros:

  • Minimum X-ray exposure
  • Long term solution to back pain
  • Controlled pain
  • Quick recovery

Cons:

  • Pain and other complications
  • Recurrent disc herniation

Get treatment cost for Microdiscectomy & travel

Click Here

FAQ

Q: How long does it take to recover from a microdiscectomy?

A: The patients are advised to limit simple motions such as bending, lifting, and twisting for at least six weeks after the surgery. Gradually, they can return to their normal activity level.

Q: Is microdiscectomy safe?

A: A microdiscectomy is a safe procedure. However, like any other surgery, this procedure can result in complications in just one to two percent of the cases.

Q: How long does it take to perform a microdiscectomy?

A: It may take one to two hours for this procedure to complete.

Q: What is the success rate of microdiscectomy?

A: The success rate of this procedure is more than 90 percent.

Q: How long will I not be able to work after microdiscectomy?

A: Most patients are able to return to the job involving light activities after one to two weeks of the surgery. However, complete recovery may take around six weeks, after which the patient can return to heavy work and sports.

Q: What are the risks of a discectomy?

A: Bleeding, infection, nerve root damage, constant pain, and deep vein thrombosis are some of the rare risks of discectomy.

Videos

About Procedure

Patient Stories

  • Patient Testimonial from USA for Microdiscectomy Treatment

    Mr. Robinson Trey United States

Please Enquire

Microdiscectomy

Are you struggling to find what you are looking for?

Get in touch with our medical representative to get the assistance

medigence-quality